backyardchickenfail


The CHICKPOCALYPSE!

So its turns out these chickens attract more predators than Chris Hansen.  Unbeknownst to me multiple critters were waiting outside my backyard gate bearing flowers and wine coolers hoping for an easy score.

“Mr. Fox, what were your intentions showing up here today?”

“What? Whoa, we were just going to play Xbox and talk about Twillight.”

“So you didn’t instant message ‘I want to wear your insides like a mask and dance around like that guy in Silence of the Lambs while my friends watch.’?”

“What? No! And I swear she said she was egg laying age!”

The chickens were in the backyard picking out dough, when I heard frantic squawking and yelled “No child no!”  I slammed on my office window trying to scare away whatever was attacking them and sprinted outside. A single poof of feathers drifted in the air as the screech of a departing bird of prey faded away.  Barbie #2 stood alone in the yard. Rizzo was nowhere to be found.

Did a bird really just carry off one of my chickens? I knew there were Ospreys in the area, but they eat fish. I recalled a tiny  hawk I saw months ago eating a finch in my
front yard.  Could that have done it? A real life chicken hawk? You have got to be f’ing kidding me. That’s something only loud mouth schnooks have to worry about. Ya know, I said, ya know what I’m talking about, son??

As I stood there shaking my head I heard a low cackle. From behind the doghouse coop emerged Rizzo. She had survived! I ushered them back into their coop and chuckled at how they freaked out whenever a bluejay  flew by.

A few days later there was a false alarm. Again I heard a commotion and rushed out to the rescue. Instead of finding an attacker, I found an attackee. Rizzo was trying to take on a large lizard that had been crawling on the fence. They battled in an epic fashion, Cluckzilla vs. Reptillrha. She stabbed as him with her beak and he lashed out with his tail. Eventually she grew bored and left the stunned and most likely internally bleeding lizard alone. Seconds after the battle ended, a large black snake slithered out of the grass towards the birds. I chased it off cursing the damn circle of life that was taking place in my dirt patch of a back yard.

chicken punched

In the end it wasn’t an arial attack, feisty feline, or alliterative alligator that brought the chickens demise. Instead it was a four legged, low riding, badger burrowing, nazi piece of shit that got them. I am of course talking about the confrontational wiener dog from my first post.

I had just returned from a 4 day scuba trip to the keys and was happy to find both my chickens and cat alive. The multiple bowls of food and water had done the trick. If only kids were that easy. Leave a few happy meals and a litter box, then off to Vegas for the week.

When I came home from work one day my neighbor and his daughter greeted me with grim faces as I pulled into my  driveway. The back gate was open and he had garden gloves on.

“A dog got into the chickens.” He said.

“Oh please tell me he didn’t get the black one!” With a shake of his head, I knew Rizzo was gone.

<dramatic movie “Nooooooooooooo!”>

The backyard was a mess of feathers, dirt piles, and footprints. Lying motionless in a box were Barbie #2 and Riz. Of the three Rhode island red replacements, they had only found one. She stood traumatized but safe back in the chicken cube.  Art, my neighbor, had found the dog my yard and had chased it away as it tried to bite him. It made me furious to know that this was the same dog that had rushed at me in my front yard. Back then I dismissed it, because come on, you’re a fucking wiener dog. I’ll field goal your ass. But now…

I couldn’t believe it.  My chickens were gone. The first death was apocalypse meow, but this time an army of barkness had descended upon my birds.

EPIC FAIL!

The dog ended up not belonging to my early morning leaf blowing ass of a neighbor, but rather to a guy behind me  a few houses down. The fences between our yards had a gap between then creating an aboveground underground railroad like system that the fleabag could use to get into any yard he wanted. He just squeezed through a hole in the fence and went chicken killer.

Art got up on his ladder to attempt to talk over the fence to the offending dog owner. He was in his backyard, laughed, and feigned a lack of comprehension of the English language.

Pissed, I yelled “El perro en me yardo againo, yo shooto in la cabesa, comprende?”  That’s a South Tampa dialect in case you were wondering.

Two more holes were dug and the birds were laid to rest. I prayed that I wasn’t near any ancient indian burial grounds that generated Stephen King-ish zombie chickens.

It was a pleasant surprise when we found one of the replacements cowering in Art’s yard. There was no trace of the third.What was I going to do with just two chickens? I already knew the chicken chi would be askew and annoying. Starting over with more chicks just seemed pointless.  With a defeated sigh I wrote a short ad and listed the reds for sale on Craigslist.

My grand backyard chicken experiment was over.

The next post: Or is it???

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Kelly you have as much luck with chickens as I have in the stock market!

Comment by Daddy Don




Leave a Reply

